A healing heart spills

I bring love to every table

I have ever had the chance to eat at

Been served poison and drank it

Thanked them anyway

Served them in the bedroom later

Saved them

From theirselves

Just long enough

To lose myself

In their eyes

Always Like a river

They cry

Because they couldn’t forget her

And I

Was so tied up in

The idea

Of fixing something

Broken

That

I’d forgive them

Again and again

Because I couldn’t be her.

Through every sleepless night

And every slammed door fight

Every love letter

They didn’t write

Or forgot to give to me

While they held her

In our bed

While they would sleep

The night away

And nobody would ache for me

So I became numb

Forgot what

I was made of

Filed myself down

So that I’d fit in

To the frame that

She left on the wall

Like a shadow

That I could never stand up to

And I don’t have to.

If I knew then

What I know now

I would have known there was an after

And that when love

Meets itself

It finds it is a

Beautiful disaster.

Published by scarletbxx

A ghost, a magician, an afternoon storm. I’ll tell you my secrets if you tell me yours.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started