After the world

I’m rewriting my past,

And repaving my path

To the future

May habits no longer

Hold me back.

I am one of the lucky ones

One of the ones who carries scars

Like a name on a cross or a house

Marks, on a humans skin

Like shooting stars.

I am not sorry this time

That I escaped barely scathed

Wounded and stripped of my ego

Given a taste of the world at its worst

To see it at its best

I praise this earth as I step

Forward

Pray to the gods above, around, within,

That they hold me together

Bind me like a spell

As i spell my name

Write it across a page

In a way I would never guess

If you’d have asked me

when I was younger

Because I had no future.

I saw nothing full speed ahead

And set sail

Destined to fail

To die.

And I did.

I buried that girl

On the beach last year

I shed so many tears

I am so blessed

to be left with

Nothing but

Scars as souvenirs

Of the life I led

Before life led me here.

Published by scarletbxx

A ghost, a magician, an afternoon storm. I’ll tell you my secrets if you tell me yours.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started